Fuzionwork: All about creation. Film, theatre and any stuff I find cool

Why Wonder Woman Failed

So in the most unsurprising piece of news I’ve heard this week, Wonder Woman did not make the cut for NBC’s fall lineup. I am not sorry to see it go. It was a project that became more and more doomed every step it took.

The first was being a Superhero show on NBC. I’m still not over the disappointment that Heroes went from one of the most refreshing shows on TV to one of the most campy, annoying things I’ve seen. Next up was “The Cape”, I gave this one a little leeway at the start since it was in a more traditional vein of superhero stories but my expectations were dashed from the outset and it never got better (though it did embrace some of its camp). NBC needs to change their approach to superheroes, there is no reason why The Cape needed to feel like 90% of the superhero shows from the 90s. Also they need to stop with the tie-in online comics and stuff, it was a novel idea but you have to let a mythology build before you try to confuse us.

Next up is the casting of Wonder Woman, while I was willing to let this one go, I just don’t think Adrianna Palicki can play Wonder Woman. At the end of the day she is a woman who can trade blows with Superman (and can probably take him if she wanted). Ms Palicki is way too slender for the role. I’m sure that we could find a better person.  After seeing the stills of her doing an action scene I was thinking “Wow she needs to eat a lil bit more”.[Also look at Tom Welling in “Smallville, not the greatest actor but I rarely doubted that he was superman]

Finally, is the costume, wow. The original design was way to plastic-y and people rightly complained about the size of the heels on the boots. The “redesign” was much better but went a little too plain. Also both of them just looked awkward on her (Problem #2 didn’t help problem #3 at all). To be honest, they should have just gone outright with the current outfit in the comics, it’s practical and still has enough superheroey stuff in there to make it work. Stop looking in the Women’s lingerie section and start looking in the body armour section.

I bid the Wonder Woman series adieu, I hope it dies so that the character can get the respect she deserves, it’s not going to be easy though.

Leave a Reply

